Home Back to INDEX

Captain Beefheart Related Artists

Orange Claw Hammer
Cooks The Beef

Tracks: Hot Head . I Love You, You Big Dummy . Click Clack . Ice Rose . Ant Man Bee . When I See Mummy, I Feel Like A Mummy . When It Blows Its Stacks . Flavor Bud Living/Veteran's Day Poppy .

Band: Steve Kettley - Tenor & Soprano Sax, Voice . Stuart Allardyce - Guitars . Dave Beards - Bass . Des Travis - Drums

Price: £11.00 

Subtitling their CD "Takes On the Music Of Captain Beefheart", it's clear that Orange Claw Hammer are not just a straight covers band. As they say on the sleeve, OCH "have approached this music with reverence, but also a spirit of adventure and mischief.

The Magic Band
Plays The Music Of Captain Beefheart

Tracks: My Human Gets Me Blues . Low Yo Yo Stuff . Diddy Wah Diddy . Golden Birdies . When It Blows It's Stacks . Hot Head . Doctor Dark . Alice In Blunderland . Suction Prints . Hair Pie: Bake 1 . Steal Softly Thru Snow . Owed T'Alex . Click Clack

Band: John "Drumbo" French - Lead Vocal, Harmonica, Soprano Saxophone, Drums . Denny "Feelers Rebo" Walley - Slide Guitar, Vocals . Mark "Rockette Morton" Boston - Bass . Eric Klerks - Guitar, Bass, Vocals . Craig Bunch - Drums

Price: £12.00 

Just under an hour of the Magic Band show at "Under The Bridge" London on March 16th 2013.

The Magic Band
Oxford UK June 6 2005

Tracks: Gimme Dat Harp Boy . Dropout Boogie . Diddy Wah Diddy . Low Yo Yo Stuff . When It Blows Its Stacks . Kandy Korn . Hair Pie . On Tomorrow . China Pig . Steal Softly Thru Snow . Abba Zaba . My Human Gets Me Blues . Alice In Blunderland . Electricity . Evening Bell . The Floppy Boot Stomp . Big Eyed Beans From Venus . Mirror Man

Band: John French - Vocals, Drums, Harmonica . Denny Walley - Guitar . Gary Lucas - Guitar . Mark Boston - Bass . Michael Traylor - Drums

Price: £18.00 

A live recording of a performance that John French recalls in his sleeve notes as particularly good. The sound quality is excellent.


City Of Refuge

The Band: John "Drumbo" French - Lead Vocals, Harmonica, Sax, Drums. Bill Harkleroad (Zoot Horn Rollo) - Left Channel Guitar. Greg Davidson (Ella Guru) - Right Channel Guitar.John Thomas - Key Bass (except on Maybe That'll Teach Ya). Mark Boston (Rockette Morton) - Bass on Maybe That'll Teach Ya.

Tracklist: Bogeyman . Bus Ticket Outta Town . Blood On A Porcupine Quill . City Of Refuge . Abandon . Get So Mean . Maybe That'll Teach Ya . To The Loft Of Ravenscroft . The Shirt Off My Back . Wicked Witch Of War . Whose Side Ya On . The Withered Hand Of Time

Price: £13.50 

New CD from John French aka Drumbo playing 12 original compositions and assisted by ex-Magic Band members Bill Harkleroad, Greg Davidson and John Thomas with a guest appearance by Mark Boston.


21st Century Mirror Men

plus bonus DVD

The Magic Band: Mark "Rockette Morton" Boston - Bassius Ophelius. John "Drumbo" French - Vocals, Harmonica, Drums on Instrumentals. Mantis (Gary Lucas) - Guitars. Denny "Feelers Reebo" Walley - Guitars. Michael Traylor - Drums. Robert Williams - Drums (on Camber Sands DVD only).

Tracklist: 1.Matt Groening Introduction. 2.
Moonlight On Vermont 3. The Floppy Boot Stomp. 4. Smithsonian Institute Blues. 5. Drum Solo/Abba Zaba. 6. Circumstances. 7. On Tomorrow 8. Steal Softly Thru Snow 9. My Human Gets Me Blues 10. Alice In Blunderland. 11. Hair Pie 12. Grow Fins. 13. Veterans Day Poppy 14. Mirror Man. 15. When It Blows Its Stacks 16. Electricity. 17. Big Eyed Beans From Venus.
My Human Gets Me Blues. 2. Abba Zaba. 3. Hair Pie Bake II. 4. Steal Softly Thru Snow 5. On Tomorrow. 6. Alice In Blunderland. 7. I Wanna Find Me A Woman To Hold My Big Toe.

Price: £14.00

The Magic Band recorded live on tour during 2003/2004. All but three of the tracks were recorded in the UK.
The bonus DVD includes seven tracks filmed at Camber Sands on April 6 2003 - the first gig in the UK of the "new" Magic Band.

Fast 'N' Bulbous
Waxed Oop

Tracks: Sure 'Nuff 'n' Yes I Do . Trust Us . Smithsonian Institute Blues . Dropout Boogie . You Know You're A Man . Well . Ice Rose . Click Clack/Ice Cream For Crow . Woe-is-uh-Me-Bop . The Blimp . The Past Sure Is Tense . Blabber 'n' Smoke . China Pig

Musicians: Gary Lucas - Guitar. Jesse Krakow - Bass. Richard Dworkin - Drums. Rob Henke - Trumpet. Phillip Johnston - Alto sax. Joe Fiedler - Trombone. Dave Sewelson - Baritone Sax. Robyn Hitchcock - Guest Vocal on China Pig

Price: £14.00

Another thirteen Captain Beefheart songs arranged for a seven-piece brass-led band and featuring Gary Lucas on guitar.

Gary Lucas/Jozef Van Wissem
The Universe Of Absence

Musicians: Gary Lucas - Guitars, Electronics, Vocals. Jozef Van Wissem - Lute.

Price: £13.00

Two CDs of Steel Guitar and Lute. The Universe Of Absence is the more abstact and electronic and Diplopia the more acoustic.

Gary Lucas

Musicians: Gary Lucas - Acoustic & Electric Guitars, National Steel Guitar, Electronics . Celeste Chong, Gisburg - Vocals . Jonathan Kane - Drums . Ernie Brooks - Bass.

Price: £16.00

CD by former member of Captain Beefheart's Magic Band. This album was inspired by the music of Chow Hsuan and Bai Kwong heard in his stay in Taipei in 1976.

Moris Tepper
ex- Capt. Beefheart Guitarist

Musicians: Moris Tepper - Guitar, Vocals . Dave Burk - Bass, Keyboards . Scott Mathers - Drums .

Price: £10.00

Latest release from Moris Tepper. Twelve original compositions including one co-credited to Don Van Vliet.

Moris Tepper

Including: Moris Tepper - Guitar, Mandolin . Miiko, James Brenner, Doug Elliot - Bass. Marcus Watkins, Jamie Cohen - Guitar. Patrick Stewart, Jean-Pierre - Drums, Percussion. Nic Pierone, Louis Durra - Organ.

Price: £10.00

Twenty four original compositions on this 2001 CD

Moris Tepper

Including: Moris Tepper - Guitar, Mandolin . Joey Peters, Danny Frankel, Brian Glascock - Drums . Jay Mueller, Louis Durra - Piano, Organ, Bass, Tuba . Thom Roach - Accordion, Concertina .
Duane Jarvis - Guitar, Slide Guitar . Lyn Bertles - Violin

Price: £10.00


ALL PRICES throughout our site INCLUDE POSTAGE & PACKING. For further details see here

Home Back to INDEX